VALORANT “Game Changers Championship” » Scholar

Screenshot 2023-12-18 at 11.24.54
Category Description

Title sequence for a live event (e.g. conference, festival, summit)

Project Description

In the high-octane world of competitive esports, VALORANT Game Changers are women and gender-marginalized players within the VALORANT community, rejecting convention with their bold spirit and insanely talented play. Partnering with Riot Games, Scholar created a visually stunning campaign for the first-ever Game Changers Championship that matched the intensity and fearlessness of the pros themselves.

To create a legendary showstopper, we crafted an action-packed story with Riot Games that is stylized with radiant energy–psychedelic and surreal–bringing anime-inspired action into a dreamscape of VALORANT imagery and lore. Highlighting five Game Changers pros from across the globe, we brought their in-game personas to the forefront, turning their skill and creativity into mind-bending action with VALORANT ability easter eggs and an endless supply of pure grit. The combination of hyper-stylized visuals, kinetic action, editorial, and fearless individuality launched this campaign as a showcase of the unrelenting talent and fearlessness of VALORANT Game Changers.


Brand Partner: Scholar

Story By: Riot Games, Macauley Johnson, Ana Chang

Creative Director: Macauley Johnson

Art Director: Ana Chang

Animation Director: Alex Bernas

Lead Compositor: Andrew Tan

CG Supervisor: Kevin Kolodinsky

Managing Executive Producer: Kirsten Noll

Executive Producer: Antonio Hardy

Head of Production: Nicole Smarsh

Senior Producer: Christina Yiallouris

Associate Producer: Bella Bergeron

Production Assistant: Jack Readman

Pitch Producer: Marcus Fussell

Lead Designer: Jina Kwon

Designers: Aivy Nguyen, Kiron Robinson, Cendan Claiborne, Jose Bernabe, Kyle Fewell, Siena Mae, Stephanie Stromenger, Tiago Calliari, Victorien Aubineau

Storyboards: Mark Yates

Cel Animators: Aivy Nguyen, Alex Bernas, Ana Chang, Danni Fisher-Shin, Zach Herdman, Barbara Benas, Billy Mpetha, Bruno de Mendonca, Deco Daviola, Laura Yilmaz, Michael Relth, Olivia Blanc, Romario Clarke

Media Manager: Adrianna McKinley

3D/ Previz Animators: Han Hu, Kevin Kolodinsky, Stephen Van Wyk, Derek Friesenborg, Sarah Wolfe, Steven Dvornik

Compositors: Kenny Kerut, Sam Bachman, Andrew Tan, Dylan Blau, Jip Jeong

2D Animators: Kiron Robinson, Zach Herdman

Editor: Dominic Strazulo

Telecine: RCO

Colorist: Derrick Yuen

Mix & Sound Design: Another Country

Mix & Sound Designer: Erik Widmark

Assistant: Cathryn Stark